Nominations now being accepted for the 2024 Collection Site Award of Excellence

Alberta Recycling Management Authority (ARMA) understands that communities work hard to provide organized, convenient, and safe options for the public to recycle their end-of-life materials. Each year, ARMA awards three registered collection sites with the Collection Site Award of Excellence which recognizes communities’ exceptional dedication to offering options to recycle electronics, paint, tires, and used oil materials while meeting all registered collection site requirements.


Who is eligible to win?

  1. Municipalities, First Nations, Métis Settlements, waste authorities, and commissions collectively known as Registered Collectors can nominate their collection sites for the Collection Site Award of Excellence by applying to ARMA.
  2. The nominator must be a representative of the collection site or Registered Collector, and have the authority required to nominate the site.

What it takes to win.

Collection Site Award of Excellence winners will be chosen from the list of applicants based on, but not limited to, the following criteria. Please review the ARMA Municipal Collection Site Requirements for the full list of requirements.

    1. Collection sites are registered with ARMA for the Electronics, Paint, Tire, and Used Oil Materials Recycling Programs.
    2. ARMA-program signage is installed at the collection site and clearly identifies where the materials should be placed.
    3. Program material is handled safely and properly.
    4. Program material is stored securely to prevent theft, scavenging, and vandalism.
    5. The site is convenient and accessible to the public.
    6. Eligible and ineligible materials are stored separately.
    7. Capacity of paint bins are maximized.
    8. Groundwater contamination and spills from collection are prevented.
    9. Electronics and Paint Municipal Collection Funding Request reports are regularly submitted.
    10. The site is kept neat and orderly.

The deadline to apply is July 25, 2024.

Click on the links to download the:
Collection Site Award Info and Application Process
Collection Site Award of Excellence Nomination Form

Make your nomination today!



Collection SIte Award Nominations